26
Aug
08

Are You An Elitist?

I learned a new word today that I’ve never heard before. Elitist. What is an elitist? An elitist is someone who feels that they have enough knowledge or skill at something to belong to a special group of people for that particular subject. Elitist’s usually think they’re better than everyone else and looked upon as arrogant… whatever. The reason I talk about this today is because of a conversation I was having with a co-worker. Here’s how it all went down:

So my co-worker Matt and I were talking about the word “telephone”. I was saying how it’s weird that it seems like nobody uses the word “telephone” anymore… instead we say “phone” or “cell”. During our conversation, I told Matt that I just call it “my iPhone” and just as I said that, another co-worker (Clay) said “That’s because you’re an elitist”. Hmm… am I? I returned to my desk and looked up the word “Elitist” and soon realized… yeah… I guess I would consider myself a “Mac Elitist”. The Mac has been a huge part of my life for a huge part of my life and I can honestly say, I am obsessed. Anyone who knows me can probably see this too. I am a huge Apple geek and I’m glad. I don’t just “like” Apple stuff… I live it, I learn it, I can’t help it… I’m hooked… and I’ve been that way for 12 years. So yeah, I’m probably an elitist.

Are you an elitist about anything?

3 Responses to “Are You An Elitist?”


  1. August 26, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    Oh, I’m definitely an elitist. I wrote this little blurb in November of ’06, but I got to thinking about it again when everyone was calling Obama an elitist. I was going to write an entry about how that’s not such a bad thing. Since *someone* has to be better than everyone else. Why can’t it be me? 😉

    http://brainbelch.blogspot.com/2008/06/im-elitist.html

  2. 2 Seth
    August 26, 2008 at 11:10 pm

    I too believe I am an elitist. I want to be an elitist with many things, but I still havent chosen the one thing I can be an elitist with. Anything you think I should be an elitist at?

  3. 3 Jayson
    August 26, 2008 at 11:27 pm

    Well, perhaps you can be an elitst at sports trivia


Leave a Reply

