14
Aug
08

Finding a Job

As you may assume, I’m writing this blog as a reminder to myself that I need to find a job. Now, many of you out there may be saying to yourself “How hard is it to find a job?” But I remind you, when was the last time you looked for a job? Did anyone help you? Did you know a friend of a friend that hooked you up? If you answered 2008 to any of these, then we’re on the same page here.

I started looking for a job about 3 weeks ago. Yes, it’s been 3 weeks. Anyways, I looked in the most common places, the newspaper, online job sites and did the ole’ drive around town for 6 hours. So far, I still have no job. So I thought, let’s spruce up the old resume while I wait for the job offers to come pouring in. I recommend using a template resume as an example and create/edit your resume with that. Remember to put any new accomplishments and achievements on your newly defined resume.

Resume completed, time to go back to work. First up, online job sites.

These sites usually require you to sign up for an account with them. Don’t worry, it’s usually free. After you have signed up, you can search for jobs. You can search for something you’ve been doing for the last 10 years or if you’re looking for a new line of work, you can search for that too. These employers that use these sites usually require you to email them your resume and a cover letter. Some will have an online application you can complete and send to them. Either way, just follow the directions as advertised on the site or wait for offers to come pouring in (I have emailed 4 or so employers online and have receive responses from each of them).

The second way is the old fashion way- The Classifieds.

I have looked through the newspaper the past couple weeks and have found the ads to be very blunt. They don’t really tell you about the job. They usually just say “Full time work. 10/hr. Call 555-XXXX.” I always call and ask what the job entails. If after that you are still interested, then ask how you would complete an application and submit a resume. If possible, talk with the hiring manager. When it comes straight from the horse’s mouth, there are usually less surprises.

And lastly, the drive-around.

We’ve all done it, just driving around, looking for those “help wanted” signs hanging in the window. I found this technique to be the least effective. With all the technology nowadays, employers are using the Internet to seek employees. And the way I look at it, if a company is too cheap to pay a website or the newspaper, what’s going to happen when you ask for a raise? Think about it.

With that said, I hope you now have a job. Wait, I still don’t have a job. Back to the drawing board with my resume I guess.

Take Luck!

Seth Brown

P.S. DONT APPLY AT SEACOAST MAZDA IN PORTSMOUTH! Horrible interview process-after 2 hours, both managers left me alone in the shop as one went to Hampton and one went to Keene. Needless to say, I left. If they do that at the interview, they’ll probably do it if I worked there. Just a head’s up.

1 Response to “Finding a Job”


  1. 1 Jayson
    August 14, 2008 at 3:23 pm

    I’m sure something will come up, Seth. Keep trying. It sounds like you’re doing all the logical things. At least you’re not breaking down the door with a gun shouting “Give me a job or the blonde chick gets it!”


Leave a Reply

