13
Aug
08

New England Sports Fans

I hate New England sports fans. A very strong statement if I do say so myself, but it’s true. I live in New England, New Hampshire to be more exact. I see these fans all year long and I am just about tired of them. Being from NE, you would think I would be one of these fans, but it’s these fans that have driven me to root for other teams. Bear with me, I will explain. Back in the mid to late 90’s, I started watching professional sports. The first game I ever watched was a baseball game between the Toronto Blue Jays and the Boston Red Sox. Everyone that was watching was rooting for the home team Sox, so I decided to root for the underdog Jays. This started my hatred for NE teams and fans alike.

So, now that you know I like the Blue Jays, you should also know that I am also a Denver Broncos fan and, oh yeah, a HUGE Los Angeles Lakers fan. Again, this started from watching a game with some NE fans, them rooting for their home team and me rooting for the hated underdog. I think the Lakers thing really got to them at first because they won 3 straight championships right out of the box for me!

So, now the reason I hate their fans. NE fans do not know anything about sports. NO ONE- I repeat- NO ONE rooted for the Celtics until this past year. I can’t remember the last time someone said “Hey, did you see that Celtics games last night?” pre-2007. As soon as they started winning, here come the Fair Weather NE fans, crawling out of the woodwork. Now, I don’t mean to insult all NE fans, as some do enjoy and know sports probably more than I do. But, that is 10% of NE. The other 90% of NE fans only know about their teams when they are winning. This is what makes living in NE fuel may hatred for these fans.

Another example, the NE Patriots. Yeah, they made the Superbowl back in 1996, only to lose to the Green Bay Packers. No on was really into the Pat’s back then, at least I can’t remember. Then comes 2001. The underdog Patriot’s went to the Superbowl on the back of a second year QB replacing an injured Drew Bledsoe. They were up against the mighty St. Louis Rams who had put on a clinic in the NFL the past 3 years and were double digit favorites going in. Patriots won! Great story. Now the part the makes me hate Patriots fans.

After that season, the Patriots were the hottest thing on the block. Every shirt, every hat, every bumper sticker had the stupid Patriot helmet logo on it. Living in NE didn’t make it any better, because I had to see it EVERYDAY!!! Then, the Patriots won it again in 2003 and 2004. EVEN MORE STICKERS!!!! At this point, you might say that I am just bitter because none of my teams were performing. Quite the contrary. I know that when your team wins a Championship, they get a 5-year minimum hiatus from you bitching about them not winning. My Broncos won last in 1998, so they were just coming into the 6th year, and the Lakers just won in 2002, so they had many years to come, so I believe that is enough proof I was not bitter.

Okay, so now I’ve covered the Celtics, the Patriots, and now onto my favorite, the Boston Red Sox. Who? Yeah, that’s what I thought until 2004. The Red Sox were the team that didn’t ever win. They were the team that people got their hopes up for every spring, only to have those dreams crushed by June. They made the playoffs here and there, and came really close to the series in 2003, only again to have dreams crushed by an extra inning walk-off homerun by Aaron Boone to give the Yankees the pennant. But like I said, then came 2004.

The year started off the same, hopes and dreams. They even got a new manager in Terry Franconia after Mr. Little was fired for keeping Pedro in the game too long in that dream crusher Game 7. All was good in the Land of New Eng’. But this year, the Sox looked good. They made it to the playoffs as the wild card and once again, met the hated Yankees in the League Championship Series. With a trip to the World Series on the line, the Yankees came out of the box running, taking 3 games to 0 lead. Everything looked bleak back in Boston (I had a side bet with a colleague of mine that the Yankees would win the series, surely I was excited).

Just when I thought I had won the bet and saw more dreams crushed, the Red Sox came back, winning Game 4, and Game 5, and Game 6, sending the series to a repeat of the previous year, Game 7. But this time the game wasn’t even close. The Red Sox won the game handedly and went on to sweep the St. Louis Cardinals in the World Series. OH GOD! HERE WE GO! The Red Sox are the Champions. Another year of listening to NE fans chanting about how they have been die hard Sox fans for 30 years. The Sox won in again in 2007, if that even makes a difference. Between championships, they also created this thing called “Red Sox Nation”, proving that the Red Sox have the most and most loyal fans in the country.

Red Sox Nation got me thinking about NE fans. I did a little test. Anyone that mentioned they were any NE sports team fan, I was going ask them to name 5 players from whatever team they mentioned. You’d be surprised how many people couldn’t name just 5 players on their favorite sports teams. Die hard fans, BLAH! You’d think hearing about your champion teams every single day of the year you’d be able to name 5 players, but nope. Women are even worse, because they’ll argue with you that they are more of a sports fan then you, but they only person they can name on any team is the one that made the cover of People magazine last month.

So, let’s recap. I hate NE fans because (A) all I see is NE stickers everywhere I look, (B) 90% of NE fans don’t know anything about sports and (C) this “I’m going to join because I’m a die hard Red Sox Fan” Red Sox Nation. There are probably more reasons, but I’ll stick with those for now. I would love to hear some comments on this, so please, comment. Remember, I never said these teams were not good teams and I never once insulted these teams, just the fans. So please, no comments about how I am probably just bitter because my teams haven’t won lately.

Thanks

Seth Brown

P.S. I loved every single minute of Superbowl 42! 18-1, so close, yet soooo far away.

1 Response to “New England Sports Fans”


  1. 1 Jayson
    August 13, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    Hi, this is the co-founder of NoChocolateMilk.com Feel free to leave comments here.


Leave a Reply

